Adoption

Progress

I am so excited to finally share an update with everyone. I am super crazy excited.

We found a place!

WE FOUND A PLACE.

By God’s wonderful grace we found a place to live and I love it. Once we’re all moved in and settled I just might do a tour of the place.

For those that don’t know, we bought a house with my parents before we found Roman. Due to that, USCIS (immigration) says that we need to make enough money to support everyone in the family, and none of their income can count. Insane, yes, but that’s life. We’ve been searching for the past few months for a place to live. And then Ian found a new job, and with it came the perfect apartment. It’s amazing.

Three bedrooms.

Three good sized bedrooms.

This is because we are hoping and praying to be approved for multiple kids, so we wanted to get a place that could accommodate them all. We didn’t want to be limited by space. It took us a bit longer, but now that this step is done, everything can finally get started.

We’ve also found a social worker! We officially started our homestudy today and I’ve already started filling out documents. There are also several other things that need to get done.

In the meantime, there are several things we have to do.

It all begins with a dossier. This is basically a stack of documents that proves we are who we say we are. The homestudy is just the start, but there’s lots more to it.

This is just the beginning of the list of documents, but if I look at the entire list at once I’m sure my brain will melt out of my ears.

  • Employment statement (proof that we can support our kids and meet USCIS income requirements)
  • Proof of home ownership (proof that we have a roof over our heads)
  • Marriage certificates – 2 new certified (we’re probably going to get a few extra. I’d rather be safe than sorry)
  • Copies of our passports – 5 original copies of each of ours (we haven’t even gotten those yet – I got to get on that).
  • Copy of last years’ taxes

These are relatively simple, so I’m not as overwhelmed seeing that these are things that we can easily knock out.

I feel like things are actually happening now. Every time I close my eyes I imagine this place being loud and full of noisy kids playing. I can’t wait see Axel’s face when he finally gets to meet Roman. I can’t wait to see my husband’s face when he finally gets to hold his son.

Axel is currently sitting on the floor in his underwear (we’re moving, so he picnics in the living room often), eating a peanut butter and honey sandwich (loudly) watching Frozen, singing along with the movie. This is one of his favorite movies, second only to The Jungle Book. I can’t help but imagine Roman sitting there next to him. I can’t help but wonder what Roman’s favorite movies are.

Will he be obsessed with numbers and the night sky like his brother? Will he be very technology inclined like his daddy? Will he find release putting his words to paper like his momma? Will he escape into a good book when the world gets too much to take? Or will he want to draw and paint? Will he be a hugger and kisser like Axel? Will he be an introvert or extrovert? Will he love peanut butter? Will he hate broccoli? Does he have food allergies?

These are the questions that constantly fill my mind. I haven’t really allowed myself to think much about them. I didn’t feel like I had earned it, like I wasn’t working hard enough. But now I’m letting my brain wander – I’m imagining what it will be like when he’s home.

Guys, I’m bringing my son home. I’m really bringing my son home. It feels surreal. I can’t even begin to describe to you the emotions I feel.

It’s go time.

If you feel lead, please check out our YouCaring page to share and/or donate. Every penny helps, and we are so grateful.

6 thoughts on “Progress

Leave a Reply

