Adoption

Introducing…

This is an announcement that has been months in the making and I am SO happy that it’s officially official.

I want to take a moment and introduce you to our daughter, Lynda.

Hah. Our daughter. I could just say that all day long. We have a daughter.

Anyway, Lynda. Lynda, of course, is not her real name, but the alias used to protect her privacy.

lynda

But there she is. Isn’t she lovely? I could stare at her little face all day.

Sweet Lynda has the same need as Roman – hydrocephalus. For a brief recap, hydrocephalus is water on the brain that can cause brain damage. Generally, a shunt is placed that reroutes the fluid to the urinary tract, so then it’s just peed out.

Lynda will soon be eight years old. She is also mildly mentally delayed. But you have to understand that that is what is to be expected from any little girl in her situation.

This is a report given from a family that met her all the way back in 2013:

“She was in my kids’ groupa.  She is the sweetest little thing and needs out of there ASAP!!!  She has the most noble quiet nature about her.  She is mentally delayed but has so much potential.  She was one of the least favored children in the orphanage and she is desperate for love.  On one occasion she wandered over to the play shelter where we were playing and was trying to eat our daughter’s cookie.  We didn’t have any extra (we brought treats for the groupa every three days or so) so my husband just picked her up to distract her and as soon as he did, she threw her arms around his neck and rested her head on his shoulder just soaking in the attention.  I can’t bear the thought of her being transferred!  She already has it bad enough.”

This was three years ago. Now, she has already been transferred into an adult mental institution. This is a seven year old little girl that should be spending not only Christmas, but her birthday, with her family. Instead, she is in an adult mental institution, a place that I know nothing about. I know the horror stories. I know that most children die after transfer due to the abuse and neglect. I see the bruises and scratches on other children’s faces to try to put together the horrific pieces.

This picture is at least three years old – I don’t know what she looks like now, and trying to imagine it is making my stomach turn. My heart aches for this little girl just as much as, if not more so, than Roman. At the end of the day, he is left in a crib, alone. But I know that he is favored and taken care of. I am in contact with people that see him fairly regularly. I get updates and pictures and I know that he’s not minutes away from death. I don’t know that about Lynda, about this sweet little girl that I will call my daughter.

I pray each and every night that God will wrap his arms around her, that she will be protected. But there’s no way for me to know for sure, there’s no way for me to have a pair of eyes watching her. I have no idea what is happening to her and it tears me apart.

We have started the homestudy process and we’re going to move as fast as our feet will take us.

I’m going to take a second and brag on my amazing husband. Throughout this whole process, he has been wonderful. He is constantly working to find better jobs to bring more money to better support our kids. He works so hard each and every day. He already talks about car seats and minivans and matching Seahawks jerseys. But there is something so special about the daddy-daughter relationship. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that he’s not looking forward to having Roman home. Because he is. But he’s also so excited about doting on his baby girl. He is already getting excited about dresses and tutus. He wants to take her to the Valentines Day Father Daughter dance with my sister and dad. He’s already panicking about the thought of her dating. When I say that he’s all in, I mean it. He has somehow created a bond with a little girl thousands of miles away. She already has him wrapped around her finger, and she doesn’t even know he’s coming yet. I can’t wait for the day that I get to see them meet. It’s going to be glorious.

We ask that you’ll join us in praying for a miracle, praying that things move quickly, that finances work out right, that fundraisers will be successful. We ask for your partnership to bring both of my beautiful kids home. I can’t bear the thought of her being there a second longer than she has to.

6 thoughts on “Introducing…

Leave a Reply

