Adoption

Cost and Payment Update

Alright, I’ve done an expenses list before, but it’s been awhile. I want to refresh everyone, and myself, just what we’re doing with the money we’re asking for. I’m also going to mark all of the expenses we’ve already paid for. This way we can see how far we’ve come, and how far we have to go.

Commitment Fee/First Facilitation Installment – $900

Passports (Mom and Dad) $390 – PAID

Passport (Axel) – $165

Home Study Fee $2500 – PAID

Adoption Training Classes – $160 – PAID

USCIS Fees $1115 < – Next Goal!

Marriage Certificates $3 x 5 = $15

FBI Police Clearance $100

Various Postage $200

Apostille Fees $600

Travel (estimated to Eastern Europe and back) $4680

Adoption Fees $17000

Travel in Country $500

child’s Medical Appt for Visa $220

child’s Visa Application $325

child’s Passport and Expedition Fees $500

Living in Europe for 5 weeks $3500

Emergency Fund $1000

 

Grand Estimated Total: $33,871

Now, remember, this is the estimated total if nothing goes wrong. It could easily end up being more than this. And it really is a terrifying number.

But you have to realize, too, it’s not just something perishable that we’re buying. It isn’t a car or a vacation. These are CHILDREN we’re talking about. So when I look at that number, I get remarkably overwhelmed. But then I also realize that I would go to the ends of the earth for Axel and not bat an eye – no one else would either, because I’m his mother and it’s my job. So these kids are absolutely no different. Plus, we’ve already made headway! Progress is happening.

Out of that number, we’ve already paid $3790. That’s already 11% of the way there! That’s exciting, right?

Plus, our Polly has a $5000 grant with Reece’s Rainbow. And we’ve already raised just over $2000 in our FSP (tax deductible account). So between what we’ve already paid, and the grants, we only have $28081 to go. It’s still a massive number, but just chipping away at it all is what matters more than anything.

And while the Reece’s Rainbow accounts are AMAZING and will help tremendously, those funds aren’t available to us until travel. Meaning that they’re basically savings accounts for us to use on our flights and in-country expenses. I’m so grateful for that because it’s something that I know will be there for us when the time comes.

But we’ve still got a ways to go until that point. As far as stateside expenses, we still need $2195 to get all of our paperwork submitted to our babies’ country.

But that also brings me to the number that I’ve been far too terrified to think about – our Fully Funded Number. In the RR group, this is the number that says we are 100% funded and have all of the estimated costs necessary to get our babies home. It’s exciting when a family meets that number, and we love to join in the excitement. So minus stateside fees and Polly’s grant, our FSP needs to read $22,726 for us to be FF. I’m hoping that number will drop as we do more yard sales, a 5k, a spaghetti dinner, and pancake breakfast. I honestly fully believe that we can do this. And I won’t stop fighting until we do.

So for all of you that are super annoyed with all of my fundraising posts, this is why. I want to make sure people are seeing what we are doing,, and they can see that we’re working very hard to get it all done.

On that note, if you’re interested in tutus, scarves, earrings, anything. Please check this out. We also have a nice list of easy ways you can help, too!

Plus! I finally have my Etsy shop up and running. There’s not a lot of listings up yet, but I’m working on it! So please check out and favorite Antsy Momma Designs on Etsy.

If you feel lead, please donate and/or share to our YouCaring account. Every penny goes towards the babies.

I’m hoping to have another update shortly. I also know I promised y’all a homestudy post and I promise it’s coming.

Thank you all for your constant support.

Leave a Reply

